Childlike Lessons From a Nail File

I had a fun conversation with my daughter tonight. I got a free sample nail file in the mail with a pair of workout pants I ordered. She asked me how to use it so I showed her how to file her nails. She took the file back and said “well I like to do it this way” and she proceeded to file her knuckles instead of her nails.

“Oh, that’s a new way to do it!” I said.

And what surprised and impressed me was not WHAT she said next, but HOW she said it:

“Yeah, it’s kind of a different way.”

She said it with pleasure, pride, and full acceptance. She was excited to have a different way of doing things!

So I pose this question to you Real Girls:

When on earth do we learn that it’s a bad thing to be different? And what can we do to help return ourselves to that childlike joy of being original and unusual?

Please comment with your thoughts!

To receive the RealGirls Inspirational Monthly Meme, please sign up below:

3 thoughts on “Childlike Lessons From a Nail File

  1. My kids and I celebrate our differences. They realize that we all have different opinions, desires/ likes, and talents. We’ve made a point of that since they were small though. For example, we told my kids my hubby is great at science & math while I’m great at English and the arts. It’s what we’re passionate about. Not one of them is BETTER than the other. It’s what makes us US. 🙂

  2. That’s fantastic, Lindsay!! I think that’s a great way to fight all the messages of conformity! There are certainly times when “fitting in” is the best choice, but I think celebrating differences as your family does is not valued enough these days.

  3. I tell my granddaughters to be true to the “who” they are, and never be afraid of what anyone says. I don’t know if it will take, but I’m starting this before they become teens–they are seven now.

Leave a Reply

